Motivating Mothers

Today, early in the morning, an elderly lady in the neighborhood pressed our doorbell and requested for my new book ਆਨੰਦੁ ਆਨੰਦੁ ਸਭੁ ਕੋ ਕਹੈ (Every body talks of Bliss)…She had read about the book in some magazine. I was pleasantly surprised. As I gave her the book she opened the knot of a small hanky which contained one hundred rupee and one fifty rupee note. I refused to take the money as she was living only ten houses from our house. But she insisted “ਇਹ ਤਾਂ ਤੁਹਾਨੂੰ ਲੈਣੇ ਹੀ ਪੈਣੇ ਆਂ …ਮੈਂ ਇਦਾਂ ਨਹੀਂ ਲੈਣੀ ਇਹ ਕਿਤਾਬ” !( You will have to accept this. I’ll not take the book without payment).

As she would not relent I took the fifty rupee note reluctantly. I saluted this old lady who must be my mother’s age. Before getting up she said “ਕਾਫੀ ਦੇਰ ਤੋਂ ਤੁਹਾਡਾ ਕੋਈ ਲੇਖ ਨਹੀਂ ਪੜ੍ਹਿਆ ਸੀ, ਮੈਂ ਸੋਚਿਆ ਤੁਸੀਂ ਲਿਖਣਾ ਛੱਡ ਦਿੱਤਾ ! ਹੁਣ ਪਤਾ ਲੱਗਾ ਕਿ ਤੁਸੀਂ ਇਹ ਪੁਸਤਕ ਲਿਖ ਰਹੇ ਹੋਵੋਗੇ… ਲਿਖਣਾ ਨਾ ਛੱਡਣਾ ਤੁਸੀਂ!” (I had not read your article for a long time. I thought you have stopped writing. Now I know why…Please don’t stop writing)…

As she left, I promised to myself “No, mother, I’ll not stop writing…how can I with mothers like you motivating!”

Leave a Reply

